Challenge Accepted

My Christmas knitting is hitting an all time crazy level. It is currently December 2nd and I have two kids sweaters done, so you would think that I was doing pretty good right? Wrong! I still have two pairs french press felted slippers to make for my mom and aunt, nola slippers for my dad, the amy scarf for my sister (which I need to dye the yarn for), a holden shawlette for my other sister, a tonic and water for my cousin Kit, sock monkey booties for my baby cousin Blake, design a baseball pillow for my nephew, and now I have to make a sweater or shawl for the daughter of a family friend (what will be made will be determined tomorrow).  Luckily the tonic and water doesn’t have to be done until after Christmas.

This Christmas I totally bit off more than I can chew, but who needs sleep anyway? I mean that’s why they made makeup and coffee right? So wish me luck and in the famous words of Barney Stinson “Challenge Accepted”

And since I don’t have any finished object picture ready yet here are some pictures of some of my new yarn.

IMG_4817

My nephews finished flax by tincan knits. I hope to have to good finished object photo’s by the end of the week.

IMG_4816

This is from the fiber fangirl. It is a silk and alpaca mix destined to be some cloudy day leg warmers.

IMG_4808

This and the grey/white malabrigo lace below will be a color block featherweight cardigan.

IMG_4809

This will be used for the featherweight cardigan.

IMG_4814

This will be the bough from the latest wool people.

IMG_4813

This will be the main color of the tonic and water.

IMG_4810

This was from the last installment of the Bumblebirch fall yarn club. It’s called sly fox.

IMG_4804

And well this I got because it looks pretty. It doesn’t have a project yet.

 I have some good news though, my semester is almost over and with all of these projects I should be blogging more, or at least I  hope so! Happy Knitting and Crafting!

What Christmas knitting are you doing? Are you in over your head this year?

2 Comments

  1. I think I’d have to give some rain checks if it were me! But, wow, you have some beautiful yarns and great patterns to amuse you, at least. I usually stick with Knit picks and less expensive yarns like Cascade.
    I have one pair of boot cuffs, socks, and a hat left and then my Christmas knitting is over. Hopefully I can do those and finish the sleeves on my other two WIPs by Christmas.

    • Michelle to be honest when it comes to Christmas gifts I have a hard time saying no. And I had my meeting with the family friend and instead of a sweater it is three different shawls, technically 4, but I gave her my mandeville since she liked it so much and she is buying the yarn so I can make another one for myself to replace the one I gave her. Since this post I have one nola slipper completed and the sock monkey booties almost completed (I just have to finish the ears and the sew every on them). So I think I am making decent progress. And well the yarn I generally go the knitpicks or the cascade root for bigger projects, but smaller ones I can’t help myself, plus I love so many indie dyers work.

Leave a Reply

