23

Well this past Thursday  the 19th I turned 23, I don’t really feel like I’m 23, but to be honest I really don’t know how old I feel.  Anyways enough about my age, so for my Birthday this year I made the decision to make my birthday cake. I know most of you are thinking why would she do that, well my mom had been really busy that week and I really wanted to make a strawberry cake. As you may recall earlier this summer I wrote about making strawberry cupcakes so I decided to just turn that recipe into a cake recipe and well it worked. It tasted so good and everyone really enjoyed.

I ended up breaking the cake making up into two days because making it takes so long so I made the batter and part of the icing the night before my party and made finished it up the day of the party which worked out a lot better than trying to make it all in one day.

The batter.

The batter.

The icing in the process of becoming icing.

The icing in the process of becoming icing.

My cake :)

My cake 🙂

And me blowing out the candles.

And me blowing out the candles.

If you would like to make the cake here is the blog I got the recipe from and if you want to read about my adventures with the cupcakes you can click here.

Well besides all of the cake making excitement I got some great gifts like these knitpicks double points that I am incredibly excited for and can’t wait to get some socks started on them.

20130926-004516.jpg

Sorry about the glare.

I also got a few new shirts, jamberry nails, and I decided to get myself a gift because well, my family isn’t really keen to using etsy and I figured they would have difficulty finding it so yeah.

I got myself this awesome notions case and stitch markers.

I got myself this awesome notions case and stitch markers. From this etsy shop.

Here's a close up of the stitch markers, they were appropriately named confetti.

Here’s a close up of the stitch markers, they were appropriately named confetti.

Also this past weekend I went to the Harvest Moon Festival in Parkersburg, WV and got a new yarn bowl, a ring holder, adorable ceramic buttons, and a pendant. I am super excited about all of the my finds and all of it was make locally which makes it even better! Plus very reasonably priced, like the ring holder was 4 dollars, the bowl 24, the pendant 16, and the most shocking price was the buttons. I got all of those buttons for 5.50, now talk about a steal.

20130926-003921.jpg

I just love craft festivals, I’m hoping to go to another one in a few weeks.

Well all in all it was a great Birthday/weekend!

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

