When life slows down

So my life has finally slowed down, as I posted last time I have gotten to go out antiquing and have been able to take some much needed me time to knit and relax. This past Monday I finished up my 2nd semester of grad school which has given me a lot of free time, but my nephews baseball season is over. This baseball season was probably the best year my nephew has had, I think in regular season they only last 4 or 5 out of I think around 18 games and tied one of those. Then his tournament team won like 24 out of 28 games and in the 5 tournaments they were in they got three 1st places, one 2nd, and one 3rd (sorry for the proud aunt bragging I am done for now).

After their win in Bridgeport WV, they went undefeated in that tournament and came back to win the championship game 12 to 13 in the 6th inning they were down by 6 in the 4th.

After their win in Bridgeport WV (last tournament they played), they went undefeated in that tournament and came back to win the championship game 12 to 13 in the 6th inning they were down by 6 in the 4th.

My nephew with his plaque and the team trophy. He hit the ball and got on base 9 out of 12 times and got walked 3 times. (Now I am seriously done.)

My nephew with his plaque and the team trophy. He hit the ball and got on base 9 out of 12 times and got walked 3 times. (Now I am seriously done.)

To top off baseball season coming to a close and having a three week break from school the kids I babysit for went on vacation, now I still ended up babysitting for another family, but only 3 days this past week and I could still get some knitting down. So without further ado here is some progress shots of some of my wips.

My grace designed by Jane Richmond, this and the chocolate stout are part of the Summer Sweater KAL through the luvinthemommyhood blog.

My grace designed by Jane Richmond, this and the chocolate stout are part of the Summer Sweater KAL through the luvinthemommyhood blog.

A close up of the Bradbury to show the beautiful lace work.

A close up of the Bradbury to show the beautiful lace work.

My ease designed by Alicia Plum, I'm about two inches away from finishing up the body, but of course the is my reading/homework project so it won't be getting worked on for probably another two or three weeks.

My ease designed by Alicia Plummer, I’m about two inches away from finishing up the body, but of course the is my reading/homework project so it won’t be getting worked on for probably another two or three weeks.

So far I am loving all those projects and yes I still have quite a few others that aren’t present but everything that is on the needles will be finished before January first with the exception of my helix scarf that is the bane of my existence.

In other crafty news my toms shoes started getting a hole in the toe of one of them and since I don’t want to buy a new pair, but also don’t want to wear shoes with a hole in them I gave them a makeover.

20130809-211213.jpgI used this double sided fabric adhesive stuff. You first cut fabric to fit the area that you plan to cover then you put one side of the adhesive down on the shoe then once you have the adhesive stuck where you want it you pull the other the paper part off and then you have an exposed sticky side, with the sticky side exposed now you can place your fabric down carefully to where you want it and smooth it onto your shoe. This the second time I have redid a pair of toms.

This is the first pair I did.

This is the first pair I did.

And this is what the adhesive stuff I use looks like, in case you were wondering.

And this is what the adhesive stuff I use looks like, in case you were wondering.

Leave a Reply

