Something Old and Something New

So today I went antiquing for the first time in about 6 to 8 months, the last times I had went out I wasn’t very successful, but I had a good feeling about this time. And boy was I right! I found so many awesome cute things and spent way too much money, but hey when will I come across stuff like it again?

 

So first up are these awesome pencil sharpeners. Yes I said pencil sharpeners, they work and there are different things on each sharpener that moves like you can crank the clock and move the needle up and down on the sewing machine. They are so cool!

So first up are these awesome pencil sharpeners. Yes I said pencil sharpeners, they work and there are different things on each sharpener that moves like you can crank the clock and move the needle up and down on the sewing machine. They are so cool! Superfluous, but cool nonetheless.

Now this stuff is for jewelry making whenever I feel inspired to put down my knitting needles and design again. I had been looking for small skeleton keys like that for awhile so I couldn't pass that up and then the other things are crystals from chandeliers they are really pretty and all of the stuff will make great charms.

Now this stuff is for jewelry making whenever I feel inspired to put down my knitting needles and design again. I had been looking for small skeleton keys like that for awhile so I couldn’t pass that up and then the other things are crystals from chandeliers they are really pretty and all of the stuff will make great charms.

IMG_4570 IMG_4575 IMG_4574 IMG_4573 IMG_4572 IMG_4577 IMG_4578 IMG_4579

Now all of the rest are these are buttons I found, yes I kind of went button crazy, but can you blame me? They are all so unique and different. Now the ones at the very beginning with the green buttons, bronze buttons, and the Celtic looking buttons all came together in one little baggy with this weird little thing pictured below, I’m not quite sure what it is or why it was in there but now I own it too.

IMG_4576

To support the fact that I am going button crazy I will also show you my latest purchase from etsy, but in my defense I bought/went searching for these buttons, for my up and coming soon to be finished within the next two months cardigan/knitting projects. I got them from the etsy shop Add Vintage. I am in love with this shop, they have so many different, pretty,  and interesting antique buttons that are unused/dead stock and they actually know the time period and story behind some of them. I will definitely shop there again for buttons.

IMG_4580

The small ones are for my Grace cardigan and when I get around to making my Georgia cardigan. The brown ones on the end are for either my chocolate stout or pontos and the other ones were just so pretty I figured why not, I wasn’t expecting to find so many interesting ones while antiquing, that usually doesn’t happen. Generally I only find two or three sets of buttons I like while antiquing.

The final purchase of the day is going to eventually be made into a necklace holder like the one seen here on etsy. I bought these two to add to the one I had at home, I only need to find two or three more, which is super exciting.

IMG_4566

Here's the two new ones with the one that I had gotten from an old cabinet at our house.

Here’s the two new ones with the one that I had saved from an old cabinet at our house that was getting a new knob.

And just because I generally always post something about knitting here is a picture of my chocolate stout thus far, it is coming along very nicely! I am pretty much on track for getting everything I want to get finished during the luvinthemommyhoods  summer sweater KAL. Its still not too late to join in and the sponsors for this KAL are amazing!

IMG_4581

2 Comments

    • Thanks! I really am loving my chocolate stout! Also I think you are right about the mystery item. From the etsy link you sent those look exactly like the item, so thanks for solving that mystery! That’s cool that you do that with your daughter, my mom went with me this past time. I love antiquing and finding unique stuff for projects.

Leave a Reply

