Done!

*Cue dramatic celebratory music*

I am done with my first semester of grad school and I couldn’t be more relieved or happy! Sadly I will start back up in about two weeks, but this is a much needed break!

Besides being done with grad school the fact that I have two finished projects recently finished makes everything even more exciting.

Here are the promised finished project pictures:

The pistachio robot aka the cap sleeve lattice top!

The pistachio robot aka the cap sleeve lattice top, from Purl Soho. My first finished project for the Top’s, Tanks, and Tee’s KAL with luvinthemommyhood.

 

IMG_4452 IMG_4453 IMG_4455 IMG_4456

Here’s a run down on all of the modification’s I made for the cap sleeve lattice top, I already posted part of this and it is all on my ravelry page, but here it is again:

Cast On-
I decided to knit it in the round because I don’t like to seam and I think it goes faster. So I cast on 198 stitches, I put a stitch marker in the middle so it has 99 stitches on either side of the stitch marker and I placed a stitch marker when I joined in the round.

I followed the eyelet section like it was written, but since it was in the round at the end of the round you need to yo then k2tog, after you k2tog you are at the stitch marker, you need to remove it k1 then pm again. Then you will have 99 stitches on either side of the stitch markers again.

Body-
I prefer things to have a more fitted look so besides casting on fewer stitches I have also done some waist decreasing and increasing. After knitting 4 in. (including the ribbing) I started decreasing. Since my starting point is one of the sides I did a k1, k2tog then knit until 3 stitches before stitch marker ssk, K1, sm, k1, k2tog, then knit until 3 stitches before stitch marker ssk, k1. I did that every 5 rows (about an 1 inch between each) 4 times total. Then I knit 3 inches and started my increases. I started at the same spot for the dec and did a k1 m1 knit until a stitch before marker m1, k1, sm, k1 m1, knit until 1 stitch before marker m1 k1. I did the inc every 5 rows, for a total of 4 times. Then I knit until the body equals 16 in. including the ribbing.

The split-
So after the body equaled 16 in. I split the work into front and back which is where the stitch markers on the side come in handy again. You put 99 stitches on scrap yarn and you work on the other 99.

Lattice-
So I followed the lattice pattern once I split the work into front and back. I started with the ws row like the pattern called for, so the inside of the sweater. Once I knit about 5.25 in. I continued to follow the pattern except with how many stitches they left for the arms, and bound off for the neck.

-Neck I left 25 sleeve stitches and bound off 49 stitches for the neck and then 25 for the other sleeve. Then I continues with the lattice and once I got to 5.25 in. and I used the kitchner stitch to connect the lattice to the rest of the body. I ended up connecting directly after a lace row and it was fine.

I ended up having an entire skein of the pistachio (MC) left over and about a ball and a half of the (CC)

Now on to the Strathcona which I didn’t alter at all! I love it and the Riveting yarn from Kollage is fabulous considering it is cotton, and the fact that it is from recycled blue jean makes it even better!

IMG_4458

And here's the strathcona!

And here’s the strathcona from Jane Richmond!

Have you finished anything recently? What’s on your needles? Have you modified any patterns? Did the modifications come out well?

2 Comments

  1. Oh Patty they’re both so beautiful! Both look like they’ll transition into summer nicely. I’ve got to remember your tips on knitting that top in the round because that’s what I’d want to do, too.

Leave a Reply

