WoW

Wow! It has been about a month since my last blog post! The month of February has just flown by, it started with travels then it turned into me being really sick, the Olympics starting, school, and more travels. Happily I am done with traveling for awhile. Though I have been silent on here my knitting needles have been moving at a feverish pace, I have all but two WIP’s from last year on the needles (both lace weight which in my opinion explains why they are on the needles) and lots of new WIP’s and finished objects.

I’m hoping to try and make my posts a little more regular so here’s hoping.

Over the next few posts I will have some finished posts (6 FO’s to be exact) some of which may be combined in one post and I have a ton of WIP’s (more than I wish to disclose, and the number will actually be growing tonight). I have a lot of WIP’s because it seems like it never fails that the knitting groups I am most active with happen to have a KAL’s going on all at the same time. Right now I am actively participating in 4 short term, 1 year long, and I just finished up with the Olympic knitting.

Sadly with my Olympic knitting I only got one sweater done. I tried to get two full sweaters done start to finish, but I ran out of yarn due to stupidity on my part (I read the amount of yarn wrong and only got enough yarn for the small instead of the medium) so sadly I have one languishing Olympic knit. The yarn came in yesterday and to be honest with all the mishaps I have had with this sweater I really don’t want to look at it.

I have deemed the month of March to be the month of WIP’s, so starting in March I won’t allow myself to start anything new until all my WIP’s are complete (except for the stupid helix scarf that has been in hibernation, I plan to make myself work on it, but I don’t have I hopes about forcing myself to get it done. So on this Saturday March 1st, I will do my blog post showing all of my WIP’s that will be worked on.

So for your viewing pleasure and to show you what I have been up to (I have been bad and bought more yarn) here are some of the new pretties I have acquired recently.

These beauty's are very special. The reason it is very special is because it is 100% mink. The yarn is called Mimi and the brand is Lotus and well I am in love it. I got it while in a little yarn store in Columbus, but you can find it at Webs. It will be the plover shawl!

These beauty’s are very special. The reason it is very special is because it is 100% mink. The yarn is called Mimi and the brand is Lotus and well I am in love it. I got it while in a little yarn store in Columbus, but you can find it at Webs. It will be the plover shawl!

I also got the Malabrigo Lace while in a different yarn store in Columbus OH. It will be the Wispy cardi.

I also got the Malabrigo Lace while in a different yarn store in Columbus OH. It will be the Wispy cardi.

This yarn is my first green mountain spinery yarn it is cotton comfort. It will be the Sunshine Crayon Tee from the most recent Interweave magazine.

This yarn is my first green mountain spinnery yarn it is cotton comfort. It will be the Sunshine Crayon Tee from the most recent Interweave magazine.

 

My first Brooklyntweed purchase (because they ran a very rare sale I think it was last week). It is going to be the Levenwick. The color is button jar.

My first Brooklyntweed purchase (because they ran a very rare sale I think it was last week). It is going to be the Levenwick. The color is button jar.

 

This is Homemade Jam in loft and it will be the Frida.

This is Homemade Jam in loft and it will be the Frida.

IMG_4982

These two (Post card and Old world pictured below) will mix with the left over homemade jam to make the Fethaland hat.

IMG_4977

 

This is the Manos del Uruguay Serena which is a half alpaca half cotton blend and will be the Bailiwick Pullover. This is also from the Latest Interweave issue.

This is the Manos del Uruguay Serena which is a half alpaca half cotton blend and will be the Bailiwick Pullover. This is also from the Latest Interweave issue.

And this yarn was actually purchase in December and was on Backorder. It going to be Mango Smoothie from Babycocktails.

And this yarn was actually purchase in December and was on Backorder. It going to be Mango Smoothie from Babycocktails.

And well I one this so one so I don't feel the slightest bit guilty about this purchase. It is Duck Duck Wools worsted weight yarn in down feather.

And well I one this so one so I don’t feel the slightest bit guilty about this purchase. It is Duck Duck Wools worsted weight yarn in down feather.

Well I hope you enjoyed all the pictures of yarn. Have a great day!

3 Comments

  1. Wow, is right! So many lovelies. I really like the Bailiwick pullover too, and in that manos colorway it’s going to be beautiful on you! You’re using a lot of the yarn lines I read about but haven’t used. When I work through most of my stash I’d like to branch out from Knit Picks and Cascade a little more.
    Btw, how’s your Eastwood Cardigan coming along? Mine is blocking and I’m so hoping it fits well when dried.

    • Thanks Michelle! This year I decided to not just talk about how I want to try out a specific yarn I am just going to do it. I still use cascade and knit picks, but I find that I am always happier when I don’t feel like I am settling for a cheaper yarn. My Eastwood got put on the back burners during the Olympics because it wasn’t in my Olympic knitting plan. Then I had two other KAL;s I needed to start before I go back to it so currently I have only one panel done. I hope to work on it some this week.

Leave a Reply

